Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun: Rambling about the Haru problem

Wow, I’ve never seen an anime that stirred the aniblogosphere like Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun did. Personally speaking, I think I’m among the minority that doesn’t take this whole thing seriously. 10 minutes into the anime, I instantly thought “This is something like Hana Yori Dango where girl has to endure guy’s bullshit before romance occurs!”, but whatever.

I’ve read almost all of the aniblogs that wrote about Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun and boy, reactions abound. Almost every aniblog post I’ve read about his has some sort of a disagreeing commenter. I don’t know, personally, I think people are over-reacting to this thing.

The problem about this whole thing is that most people don’t take a hard look at the anime’s male main lead, Haru’s personality but rather, they look at the words that come out of his mouth. Analyzing Haru, the dude clearly is different from your normal average dude and his actions prove that. My opinion regarding Haru is that he treats everybody equally, regardless of gender. He treats boys and girls equally which is in a very rough manner and in looking at it that way, sets things in perspective for me. Haru is clearly a very rough and a socially inept dude and in my opinion the anime did too good of a job showing that in the first episode. He clearly needs some fixing from Shizuku.

With that said and this being typical shoujo anime, I’m guessing that Shizuku has to endure much from Haru’s social ineptness and other stuff before she successfully fixes him and full romance occurs.

2 thoughts on “Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun: Rambling about the Haru problem

  1. I don’t know if you read my article on the episode but my beef with it was based on seeing what it tried to do and moaning that it mishandled it in a way that I felt was not silly enough to be funny or serious enough to be good drama.

Leave a Reply

