AnoHana: Short final thoughts

AnoHana has finished and tears were shed by most of them all. Now that the tearfest is over, here are my final thoughts about the anime.



I was betting right from the start that AnoHana was some sort of a healing anime for otakus, and the way it started was very strong, I even shed tears during the first 3 episodes. The next few episodes after the first 3 kinda dropped to normal in my opinion heading towards to a good final episode.

There are those who seemingly hadn’t felt the drama of AnoHana, and personally I can’t blame them. I think that Anohana pandered too much on the otaku sensibilities of its audience that some audiences might had not felt the drama at all and instead focused on other stuff like how hot Anaru’s body is (Anaru is a damn bombshell). I think the problem here is that AnoHana pandered too much on the otaku depression because not all audiences have a very strong otaku sense.

One good thing that AnoHana did is made me hate a character with all of my passion. Yukiatsu was the worst character in the anime and seeing him makes me wanna punch the computer screen in disgust. While some will say the characters are never likeable and has almost no character development, the anime is more purely plot driven, so I’d not really look at the characters… But I still want to punch Yukiatsu’s face with all of my disgust and hatred.

That final episode, I admit, it was touching as hell, but not enough to make me cry. Don’t get me wrong, AnoHana final was done okay, but it could have been done better. I don’t know but that’s just me.

AnoHana started strong and became just okay in the middle heading to a good finale. The anime ended great, but I think that the ending could have been better executed. It did a great job on recreating that happy childhood feel that was long gone and cannot be recaptured in which many otaku know so well. Overall, AnoHana was okay, not that epic but it was a very good watch for otakus. I enjoyed watching it.

3 thoughts on “AnoHana: Short final thoughts

  1. One good thing that AnoHana did is made me hate a character with all of my passion. Yukiatsu was the worst character in the anime and seeing him makes me wanna punch the computer screen in disgust. While some will say the characters are never likeable and has almost no character development, the anime is more purely plot driven, so I’d not really look at the characters… But I still want to punch Yukiatsu’s face with all of my disgust and hatred.

    I found Yukiatsu to be the most interesting character in the show. He has realistic flaws as a character and there’s the shocking crossdressing thing. But the thing is, the show never does anything with such a promising character. By the latter half, whenever Yukiatsu says something, the other characters respond “you’re really talking about yourself” or “you don’t really mean that.” His character is cheapened through overemphasis.

    And on the plot-driven part… I completely disagree. I don’t think I could produce a very convincing argument that the show is wholly character driven, but I can say: what plot? The show focuses solely on the characters reconnecting and getting over their guilt/grief. I don’t think watching the K-ON! cast set off a firework in memory of a dead Azusa would be the same thing…

    • Yukiatsu was promising indeed, but nothing was done beyond his crossdressing scene to actually redeem him and personally, Yukiatsu’s creepy crossdressing really pissed me off very greatly.
      And as far at the plot goes, the characters getting over their guilt/grief (which lasted for the entirety of the anime) was mainly the plot.

Leave a Reply

