Kuro’s first impressions about UN-GO

UN-GO is one of those anime that’s all about demanding the viewer to think a bit to get the gist in each episode and THAT AWESOME ENDING THEME. It is basically those two reasons why the anime became a top priority for me this Fall 2011.

Most of my fellow Twitters and anibloggers love UN-GO mostly because of this and admittedly it was this that also roped me into watching the series.

As I watched the series further into 4 episodes, I loved it more than just the music. Its not the mystery and ‘the looking for the truth’ that attracted me but it is how they make a episodic plot involving a current popular aspect of Japan and present questions related about it. This is one aspect of the anime that hooked me more into it.


Episode 2 referenced Vocaloid and Idol groups, both of which are a very popular aspect of Japan’s pop music. Episode 2 presents issues regarding conspiracies and scandals in show business.


Episode 3 and 4 reference AI and robots, which is considered to be a product of Japan’s advanced technology. This arc presented issues about the purpose and ‘humanity’ of robots. It is this arc that really hooked me to the anime.

Another aspect that I really liked about this series is what’s done to the truth after it has been revealed, as this overshadows the mystery aspect of the anime. I really like how this anime explicitly shows that things just don’t end after just learning the truth, for example, on the first episode, although Mrs. Kanou was the one who murdered her husband, Rinroku still passed the blame on the dead SP in order to preserve Mr. Kanou’s honor and in the second episode, Shinjūrō deduces the culprit to be An, who wasn’t allowed to publicly sing due to her vocal data being used for Eri but the blame for Hisako Osada’s death was passed to someone else to keep the secret behind Eri.

In my opinion, UN-GO is more about looking at the issues presented to the audience each episode/arc rather than the mystery/detective element of the anime. I’ll admit that the mystery aspect of this anime is decent, a bit better than say Gosick or Detective Conan, but it is looking at the issues presented in each episode is what really lights my brain every time I watch UN-GO.

To sum it up, UN-GO’s pretty much a decent mystery/detective anime with a bit of supernatural elements to it, but one must look past the bland mystery/detective aspect of the anime in order to truly like it.

4 thoughts on “Kuro’s first impressions about UN-GO

  1. More like you must look past the slow-paced action and development in order to truly like it. I like the atmosphere and the many different topics, but I am desperately needing some sort of a development and not just the same one shots. It just feels odd to me.

  2. Nice point, I absolutely agree that this series “explicitly shows that things just don’t end after just learning the truth,” that’s a really good point. I’m not an anime expert when it comes to detective-mystery, but I guess one thing that separates Un-Go from the likes of Gosick is that there’s a deeper “ethical” mystery behind the case, which sways away the attention and focus from the easy-to-solve “front” mystery.

Leave a Reply

