First impressions: Rinne no Lagrange

The first thing I noticed about this is the OP sequence. which kinda reminded me of Daft Punk’s Interstellar 5555 MTV’s because of all the lights and imagery of space and the song is pretty nice which feels very laid back and disco. This anime was off to a strong start!

Second thing I noticed is that the main character always sheds her skirt when given a chance although that may go unnoticed because the camera is always focused on the girl’s thighs and the fact that the main girl is a genki girl makes the fanservice a bit more subtle. I really liked the mecha designs in which they have this organic feel in the designs though I honestly feel that the mecha aspect was just thrown in to hook in more audiences and since its mecha I’ll be watching it.

The ED sequence continues on the laid back feel created by the OP. The Ed song feels laid back, though more pop than the OP, it actually feels kind of girly and the ED visuals contribute to the whole girly feel. The ED song was sung by Megumi Nakajima so I’m very okay with this.

In a nutshell – This may be just another fanservice anime, though since this has mecha and I like OP and ED themes, I’m very much willing to give this a shot and I am hoping that Xebec won’t go overboard with the fanservice on this one.

5 thoughts on “First impressions: Rinne no Lagrange

  1. It was pretty interesting first episode all in all. Interesting as in “well made quite content-free mecha action series with refreshing genki girl main character”. Fanservice didn’t hurt.

    Actually the whole series (down to art direction) carried early 00s feel to me for some reason. Good stuff anyway, though the trippy OP and lolshaftesque ED were the best.

    ps. Megumi sang the OP too, not just the ED

    • Yeah, The OP and the ED were the ones that roped me into watching this. Considering the production values and the subtle fanservice that this anime is showing, I think Xebec is aiming for something classy here.

Leave a Reply

