Shin Sekai Yori episode 21

Not much action in this episode, but still a huge WHAM in the terms of the stuff the anime revealed. Seems my theory about Maria’s kid being akki was spot on. I totally feel bad for Kaburagi Shisei, being the strongest cantus user and all and Yakomaru continues to awe me. At the same time though, I think this anime is now delivering a subtle message with all the carnage it’s showing.

Man, Yakomaru is pretty amazing, as this episode made it all more clear to me now. Remember how he said few episodes back that it would take a while to arrange for Maria and Mamoru’s bones back then? He was just basically bidding his time until Mamoru and Maria mated then he offed them and sent their bones. Now for those wondering what about that death feedback stuff, it’s genetic and the akki was raised thiking it’s one of the bakenezumi, so it’s death feedback would only kick in if it kills a bakenezumi thus it could kill humans effortlessly. I also applaud the rat for being able to see far into making an akki army for himself. Squealer in my opinion is the best character in this anime though it doesn’t change the fact that he needs to die soon.

As I pointed out in my last post, I think it’s becoming increasingly visible how the anime is now sending a subtle message about human hubris. The way they treated the bakenezumi as menial job slave creatures can be considered terrible, considering that the bakenezumi have intelligence comparable to humans and now they’re reaping the effects of their mistreatment of the bakenezumi and with the bakenezumi’s revolt now in full force, they even went so far as to consider human infants as spoils of war. I think the series is telling us that we humans should treat others fairly and equally.

Hopefully in the next episode, Saki and Satoru will decide to spare Kiroumaru’s life.

3 thoughts on “Shin Sekai Yori episode 21

  1. No. Yakomaru should die. Now.

    I hope that Saki and Satoru survive. As well as the fiend, the only person left behind by Maria and Mamoru🙂 That’s just my wishful thinking…

Leave a Reply

