First Impressions – Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

In my opinion, this is a dark comedy. It makes light of the state of depression one person in japan might go through and I did laugh my ass off through the first episode. Izumi Kitta did a real great job of voicing Tomoko for this anime.

I really liked the references it dished out through the first episode as it’s the only one anime I’ve seen to have a Parasyte reference and the Death Note reference scene was visually awesome and totally funny. Tomoko’s difficulty in letting out a simple word to communicate to the teacher and the guy at the convenience store counter was top notch and her antics of disguising herself at WcDonald’s was totally hilarious.

Still through all the comedies and references, I’m very aware that the humor here is dark as it makes fun of the depression a Japanese person may go through in life and only a person who’s very familiar with depression can make humor like this palatable. That said, I totally like this. The references it made are awesome and Tomoko’s antics are funny but at the same time I also learn much about the depression that some Japanese people go through.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions – Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

  1. Of all the anime out this season I have to say this is the one I look forward to most (unless you also count Senyuu). Great first episode, I hope it keeps up

Leave a Reply

