My favorite anime of 2014

2014 is finally behind us and I finally have the spare time to write this. There were lots of pretty good anime last year but these are the ones that really stood out in my opinion. So without further ado, here’s the bunch of anime last year that I think are the best of the best.

Today is year 2015. Where are the Angels?

Space Dandy

Space Dandy was pretty good. I really liked that each episode was self-contained and showcased different variety of animation styles and writing. Dai Sato being part of this project is what really got me into this. The soundtrack is truly awesome and the anime featured some memorable breakout episodes such as Rock n’ Roll Dandy, Baby and Lovers Are Trendy, Baby.

Nobunaga Concerto

This is probably one of the underrated gems in 2014. A boy accidentally time travels back into the Sengoku Era of Japan may sound pretty cliché for a plot but this anime is pretty good. I really like that the story faithfully follows the history of Japan’s Sengoku Era while giving its nice twist to the history. The animation style might be odd for some, but don’t let it stop you from watching this anime.

Haikyuu!!

This might be the best sports anime of 2014. If there’s one thing this anime is good at, it’s that it reels the audience in from the get go and makes them feel like they’re part of the action. I felt the emotions the main characters go through with each match. I felt the joy of the main characters with each victory but more importantly, I learned that losers have their story too. Yuki Hayashi made some really good musical score for the soundtrack. I can’t wait for season 2!

Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis

This anime was unexpectedly good. MAPPA has created a really engaging anime from some card game that I hadn’t heard of. The characters are engaging and the animation was consistently great. I’d really like to see more adventures of Favaro and Kaisar in the future.

Mushishi Zoku Shou

This is an anime that deals with the relationship between man and the spirit world within the context of Japanese folklore and belief. I really like that sometimes after an episode, it gives me a tidbit of thought to ponder on. I really like that the animation and the soundtrack give the anime a unique ambiance. This anime will be a welcome change if you want a break from all the moe anime you’ve been watching and would like to try something new.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

This is probably the best anime comedy of 2014. I really like the anime for showing a hilarious look at the reality of manga creation. I also got laughs watching Chiyo’s shoujo dreams get crushed by the oblivious Nozaki. and the way Nozaki get ideas for his manga are probably some of the funniest moments in this anime for me. A cast of lovable eccentric characters and funny, bizarre situations make this a truly memorable comedy anime. If you like comedy anime and haven’t watched this yet, do yourself a favor and watch this.

2 thoughts on “My favorite anime of 2014

  1. Nobunaga Concerto was such an underrated gem. It’s one of my favorite shows from last year! (Along with Ping Pong, Bahamut and Nozaki-kun.)

Leave a comment