First Impressions: Zetman

Wow. I just love this!

From the looks of things this will be a seinen anime with all the dark tones and hard action obviously visible to the anime.

First thing I’d say is that I loved the first action sequence where young Jin beats up the three guys to save the lady because it was well executed and it was so beautiful. The second is which that this first episode was tinged with drama which has a small bit of cliche touch into it (you know, that rich kids shouldn’t be hanging out with poor kids kind of thing) which was beautifully executed and drew me to the anime.

Looking at the characters, most of the central characters has some sort of emotional wound; Jin lost his grandfather, Kanzaki is guilty of his past misdeeds and I assume Akemi is having son troubles. In a seemingly dark story like this, the characters fit very perfectly as the drama that revolves around them balances the bloody action of this anime.

The action and the drama of the first episode drew me into this. I’m very happy that Spring 2012 has something seinen to offer. I’m definitely watching this.

6 thoughts on “First Impressions: Zetman

  1. This is one hell of an opener for an anime. First episode was great I only hope it continues with this same pace.
    The fight scenes were spectacular and there were some emotions thrown around into it that made it even better.

    • I really liked that for a seinen anime, the drama and battles balance each other. Not too much fighting and not too much drama. I hope that the anime continues on this.

  2. From a pure action standpoint, this was enjoyable. I just couldn’t get out of my head how telegraphed everything seemed to be in this episode plotwise. I also think there’s potential for the anime to go into original territory very early on. Hopefully it doesn’t go as badly as it could possibly go.

    • Things are looking to go to original territory as of the moment, hopefully. I’m hopeful that this will be good, considering the potential the first episode showed.

  3. I’m interested in this series, but like many other series based on manga, I’m wondering what changes they’ll make. Episode 1 already had a few changes.

Leave a comment