Kuro’s top 10 anime of 2012

As the winter 2012-2013 is off to a slow start, I might as well list my top 10 anime of 2012. Without further ado, here goes!

10. Jormungand

This anime is all about action. The first season is an okay watch, but it is in the second season where this anime truly shines as it fleshes out the rest of Koko’s henchmen which are really fun fellows and this became an ensemble effort where Koko and Jonah aren’t the only characters to watch in this. When somebody like Kapser who has very limited screentime in the anime does something, you know something big is up.

9. Nisemonogatari

The anime that showed us that infamous toothbrush scene, I really like how this anime puts forward its fanservice but the true gem of this anime if one can get past the eye-catching fanservice is its writing. I personally think that this is one of the better written shows of 2012. Toothbrushing will never be the same again.

8. Natsuiro Kiseki

If find it particularly odd that nobody remembers this show as this was the dark horse of the season it aired in my opinion. I was thinking It would be some typical boring shoujo show, but I was pleasantly surprised that it had really a great plot and great characters and uses the supernatural plot device really well. It’s one of those coming of age anime that’s worth a watch in my opinion.

7. Lupin the Third: Mine Fujiko to Iu Onna

This anime is a must watch if you’re a Lupin fan. This anime is just beautiful and puts the girl into girl power. I really like how dark is this compare to the other previous Lupin anime. Sayo Yamamoto and Mari Okada did a great job on this.

6. Aquarion EVOL

This anime knows what it is and makes the best out of it. This is one of those crazy over the top mecha anime that I really enjoyed watching because it made me emotionally invest in this anime and made me truly care for the heroes and I truly hated the main villain with all of my guts. Bros before holes, man.

5. Danshi Kokousei no Nichijou

Finally, a slice of life anime that delivers humor that I can truly relate with my high school experiences. That said, I think the best part of this is the girls in this show as it presents them as a scary mystery. Also, who doesn’t love Ringo-chan?

4. Sakamichi no Apollon

Pacing issues aside, this anime will always be in many aniblogger top 10 of 2012 lists. Heartfelt storytelling is the greatest strength of this anime, combined with likable characters and great sountrack this anime is certainly a must watch. This anime has made many of its audience into jazz fans and it provided us with the most memorable cultural festival performance in anime in 2012.

3. Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

I really like how this anime is a social commentary wrapped in palatable pastel colors where the faeries are a funny metaphor for the “current” humanity. What I really love about this is that it veered away from the usual conventions we see or think when “post apocalyptic anime” comes into mind, what is normally dark and grey is presented in wonderful pastel colors and what is supposed to be grim and dark is presented in lively, colorful humor. As we see the colorful post apocalyptic world through Watashi’s eyes, nothing is what it seems.

2. Joshiraku

This anime proved that it will be an amazing series right in the first episode. I just loved it. While one may argue that the anime is too Japanese to get into, I really found this anime to be really engaging with its social commentary, obscure nerd references and quirky humor. Perhaps what really got me into this anime is the weekly second act that shows a key location in Japan and shows the sights and information about that place. I really learned a lot about Japan while watching this anime.

1. Fate/Zero

This has got to be one of the best anime I had watched in 2012. Awesome dialogue, great fight scenes and great plot, Fate/Zero is the complete package. From the kingly discussions of Rider, Archer and Saber to the very emotional confrontation of Saber and Berserker, there’s no dull moment in this anime. This anime for me is truly unforgettable.

Leave a Reply

